Music Awards

The Western Canadian Music Awards Reception celebrates the best of artistic talent in western Canada.


2024 Western Canadian Music Awards Artistic Nominees


Blues Artist of the Year

Blue Moon Marquee - BC

Brandon Isaak - BC

Garret T. Willie - BC

Kinjo & Young - AB

Paul Black - BC


                       BreakOut Artist of the Year (Sponsored By FACTOR)

Boy Golden - MB        

Field Guide - MB

Miesha and The Spanks - AB

Slow Leaves - MB

William Prince - MB


Children’s Artist of the Year

Al Simmons - MB

Micah! - MB

Mom Bop - BC

Seeka Sings - AB

The Zing Zangs - BC


           Classical Artist or Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored By Canadian Music Centre {CMC})               

Allegra Chamber Orchestra - BC

Emily Carr String Quartet - BC

Suzie LeBlanc - BC

UltraViolet - AB

Vancouver Symphony Orchestra - BC


             Classical Composer of the Year

Dorothy Chang - Fifteen feet Closer to the Sky "All That Glitters" - BC

Emilie Cecilia LeBel - field studies "and the higher leaves of the trees seemed to shimmer in the last of the sunlight's lingering touch of them" - AB

Farshid Samandari - Light of Lights "Light of Lights" - BC

Jeffrey Ryan - A Left Coast "Everything Already Lost" - BC

Vincent Ho - Cheng² Duo "Horizon Images" - AB


Country Artist of the Year

Corb Lund - AB

Don Amero - MB

Kalsey Kulyk - AB

Nice Horse - AB

The Prairie States - AB


Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year

Kelland - BC

Rose Motion - BC

Ruby Singh - BC


Talltale - AB


Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by APCM {Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique})            

Alexis Normand - SK

Beau Nectar - SK

Fire & Smoke - MB

Missy D - BC

Suzie LeBlanc - BC


Global Artist of the Year

Jocelyn Pettit - BC

Notas de 4 - AB

Rooky Kamiz - SK

Rubim de Toledo - AB

Rumba Calzada - BC


Indigenous Artist of the Year

Celeigh Cardinal - AB


Garret T. Willie - BC

Logan Staats - BC



Instrumental Artist of the Year

Apollo Suns - MB

Jocelyn Pettit & Ellen Gira - BC

Merrie Klazek - BC

Rubim de Toledo - AB

West of Mabou - SK


Jazz Artist of the Year

Angela Verbrugge - BC

Aretha Tillotson - AB

Audrey Ochoa - AB

Daniel Hersog Jazz Orchestra - BC

Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra - MB


Metal & Hard Music Artist of the Year

Fall of Earth - AB

FKA Rayne - BC

KEN mode - MB


Red Cain - AB


Pop Artist of the Year

Haley Blais - BC

Josh Sahunta - AB

Kayla Williams - AB

Kuzi Cee - AB

Michaela Slinger - BC


Producer of the Year

Andy Schichter - Park Sound Studio - BC

Lana Winterhalt - MB

Liam Moes & Shane Stephenson - BC

Ryan Dahle - BC

Ryan Worsley - Echoplant Sound - BC


R&B Artist of the Year

Emerald Osagie - BC

JJ Adrian - BC


Sadé Awele - BC



Rap & Hip Hop Artist of the Year

Arlo Maverick - AB

Junk & Massiah - BC

Mouraine - AB

Super Duty Tough Work - MB

Terell Safadi - BC


Recording of the Year

Ariel Posen - MB

Begonia - MB

Boy Golden - MB

Michael Kaeshammer - BC

William Prince - MB


Rock Artist of the Year

Ariel Posen - MB

Kris Ulrich - MB

Miesha and The Spanks - AB

Shred Kelly - BC

Whale and the Wolf - AB


Roots Artist of the Year

Celeigh Cardinal - AB


Jake Vaadeland - SK

The Dead South - SK

William Prince - MB


Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored By The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN)}           

Alexa Dirks, Matt Peters and Matthew Schellenberg - Begonia "Butterfly" - MB

Liam Duncan - Boy Golden "For Jimmy" - MB

Celeigh Cardinal, Dave & Joey Landreth "Light of the Moon" - MB

Logan Staats "A Light In The Attic" - BC

William Prince - "Stand In The Joy" - MB


Spiritual Artist of the Year

Anastasya Lea - BC

Brian Doerksen - BC

Cynthia Lok - BC

Marika Siewert - BC

Stirling John - AB


Video Director of the Year (Sponsored by Manitoba Film & Music)

Amy Mantyka - Beau Nectar "Two Lips" - SK

Jay Lawrance - Miesha and The Spanks "So Mad" - AB

Peter Kominek - VISSIA "Doorway" - AB

Sandy Rossignol - Blue Moon Marquee "Hound Dog On a Chain" - BC

Steve Bays - The Matinee "Cut to Pieces" - BC          


The Western Canadian Music Awards are funded in part by the six provincial and territorial governments of western Canada. BreakOut West and the Western Canadian Music Awards are generously funded by FACTOR, Musicaction, the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters, along Whitehorse host partners, and event sponsors and funders, notably the Government of Yukon.