2017 Western Canadian Music Artistic Awards  


Blues Artist of the Year

Big Dave McLean – MB WINNER!

Harpdog Brown - BC

James Buddy Rogers - BC

Kenny 'Blues Boss' Wayne - BC

Ryan McNally - YT

Steve Kozak Band - -BC


BreakOut Artist of the Year Sponsored by CKUA Radio Network

Andy Shauf - SK

Begonia - MB

Dan Davidson - AB

The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer – BC WINNER!

William Prince - MB


Children's Artist of the Year Sponsored by Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium

Ginalina – BC WINNER!

Madame Diva et Micah le jeune voyageur - MB

Stella Swanson and the Rosie Joyfuls - BC

The Oot n' Oots - BC

Will Stroet - BC


Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year Sponsored by Canadian Music Centre

Alan Rinehart - BC

Daniel Janke  - YT

duo corvi - BC

Standing Wave – BC WINNER!

Vancouver Intercultural Orchestra & Laudate Singers - BC


Classical Composition of the Year

"Magnetic North" - Carmen Braden - NWT

"Pots 'n Pans Falling" - Edward Top - BC

"Immersion" - Jordan Nobles – BC WINNER!

"Raven Tales" - Marcus Goddard - BC

"Choir Practice, A Comic Opera in One Act" - Stephen Chatman - BC


Country Artist of the Year Sponsored by Dauphin's Countryfest

Aaron Pritchett - BC

Dan Davidson - AB

Doc Walker - MB

Madeline Merlo - BC

The Washboard Union – BC WINNER!


Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year


Esette - AB

I M U R - BC

Iskwé – MB WINNER!

Kytami - BC


Francophone Artist of the Year

Alpha Toshineza - MB

Ariane Mahrÿke Lemire - AB

Kelly Bado - MB

Ponteix - SK WINNER!

Shawn Jobin - SK


Indigenous Artist of the Year Sponsored by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network

Blue Moon Marquee - AB

Cindy Paul - AB

Indian City - MB

Jade Turner - MB

Jay Gilday – AB WINNER!


Instrumental Artist of the Year

Adam Dobres - BC

Five Alarm Funk - BC WINNER!

Fond of Tigers - BC

Kent Sangster's Obsessions Octet - AB

The Fretless - BC


Jazz Artist of the Year

Al Muirhead - AB

Michael Kaeshammer – BC WINNER!

Quatuor André Lachance - BC

Quinn Bachand's Brishen - BC

Steve Kirby's Oceanic Jazz Orchestra - MB


Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year

All Else Fails - AB

Black Thunder - SK

Soul Mates - SK

Striker – AB WINNER!

Untimely Demise - SK


Pop Artist of the Year Sponsored By SOCAN Foundation

Andy Shauf – SK WINNER!

Dear Rouge - BC

Jocelyn Alice - AB

Ruth B. - AB

The Zolas  - BC


Producer of the Year Sponsored by Nimbus School of Recording & Media

Andy Shauf - Andy Shauf - The Party - SK

Clayton Bellamy - The Dungarees - AB

Jesse Gander - The Pack A.D. - Positive Thinking – BC WINNER!

Jesse Zubot - Tanya Tagaq/Fond of Tigers - BC

Russell Broom - Rebecca Lappa/David Bradford/JP Maurice/The Static Shift - AB


Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year


Factor Chandelier - SK

Merkules - BC

Snak The Ripper - BC

The Lytics – MB WINNER!


Recording of the Year Sponsored by Stingray Music

Andy Shauf - The Party – SK WINNER!

Big Little Lions - Just Keep Moving - BC

Dear Rouge - Black to Gold - BC

Scenic Route to Alaska - Long Walk Home - AB

The Zolas – Swooner - BC


Rock Artist of the Year Sponsored by Radio Starmaker Fund

Dan Mangan – BC WINNER!

Mobina Galore - MB

Scenic Route to Alaska - AB

The Matinée - BC

The Pack A.D. - BC


Roots Duo/Group of the Year Sponsored By City of Edmonton

100 mile house - AB WINNER!

Big Little Lions - BC

Kacy & Clayton - SK

Karrnnel Sawitsky & Daniel Koulack - SK/MB

The Bills - BC


Roots Solo Artist of the Year Sponsored By Province of Alberta

Corb Lund – AB WINNER!

Jen Lane - SK

Joe Nolan - AB

Maria Dunn - AB

Sarah Jane Scouten - BC


Songwriter(s) of the Year, Sponsored by The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN)

Andy Shauf - "The Magician" – SK WINNER!

Corb Lund - "Washed-Up Rock Start Factory Blues" - AB

Sam Tudor - "Joseph In The Bathroom" - BC

The Zolas - "Swooner" - BC

Alexa Dirks & Matt Schellenberg - Begonia "Juniper" - MB


Spiritual Artist of the Year

Heritage Hill - BC

Jaylene Johnson - MB

Jon Bauer - AB

Steve Bell - MB

Warren Dean Flandez – BC WINNER!


Urban Artist of the Year

Damian La Grange - AB


DGS Samurai Champs - SK

Nuela Charles – AB WINNER!

Sophia Danai - BC


Video Director of the Year

Alek Rzeszowski - Yes We Mystic "No Harm" - MB

Anthony Creech - Andino Suns "Aire Libre" - SK

Brandon Fletcher - Nuela Charles "Crumbling Down" - BC

Dylan Roberts - King Dylan "Untouchable" - AB

Zach Wilson - The Dead South "In Hell I'll Be In Good Company" – SK WINNER!


Visual Media Composer of the Year Sponsored by Green Sky Labs Inc

Factor Eight "The Lion" - SK

James Murdoch "Fishcamp Soundtrack" - AB

Jared Robinson "Music is a Part of All of Our Lives" - SK

Matthew Schellenberg "Lovesick" – MB WINNER!

Mitch Dorge "The Advocate" - MB


World Artist of the Year

Andino Suns – SK WINNER!

Casimiro Nhussi - MB

Jocelyn Pettit - BC

Kelly Bado - MB

Papa Mambo - MB


2017 Western Canadian Music Awards Industry Nominees


Audio Engineering Award

Russell Broom - AB

Ryan Worsley - BC

Sheldon Zaharko – BC WINNER!

Spencer Cheyne - AB

Steve Bays - BC


Community Excellence Award

Sunshine House - MB

West End Cultural Centre – MB WINNER!

Fire Aid Organizing Committee - Fort McMurray Benefit Concert - BC

Winnipeg Folk Festival - MB

The Dungarees - AB

The Exchange - SK


Excellence in Visual Design

Adin Wridgway - tune silo records - BC

Bronwin Parks - Feisty Creative - BC

Jared Robinson - Nebulus Entertainment - SK

Matt Schuurman - AB

Renée Mak – BC WINNER!


Impact in Artist Development

BOP Management & Consulting - AB

Paquin Artists Agency – MB WINNER!

Prairie Mix - MB

Sakamoto Agency - AB

Tonic Records - BC


Impact in Live Music Sponsored By Music Canada Live

Festival du Voyageur - MB

Rawk Entertainment Group Inc. - SK

West End Cultural Centre – MB WINNER!

UP & Downtown Music Festival - AB

Winnipeg Folk Festival - MB


Impact in Music Marketing Sponsored By Edmonton Tourism

Eric Burke - Le 100 NONS - MB

Kevin Mozdzen - The Park Theatre - MB

Live Nation Canada - BC

Pipe & Hat Music Group - MB

Susan Busse - Susan Busse PR – SK WINNER!


Heritage Award

Ken Regan - AB


Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award

Kathy Kirby (posthumously) - AB


Hall of Fame

Paul Brandt - AB