2021 Western Canadian Music Awards Artistic Nominees

Blues Artist of the Year

Blue Moon Marquee - BC

Debra Power - AB

Kat Danser - AB

Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne – BC WINNER!

Terminal Station - BC


BreakOut Artist of the Year 

Ariel Posen - MB

Olivia Penalva - BC

Sam Lynch - BC

Sargeant X Comrade – AB WINNER!

Tate McRae - AB


Children’s Artist of the Year

Claire Ness – YT WINNER!

Garth Prince - AB

Peter Lenton - AB

Remy Rodden - YT

Seeka Sings - AB


Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored by Canadian Music Centre [CMC])

Christopher Tyler Nickel - BC

Land's End Ensemble with Laura Hynes and Karl Hirzer - AB

PEP (Piano and Erhu Project) – BC WINNER!

Véronique Mathieu - SK

Vetta Chamber Music - BC


Classical Composer of the Year                     

Edward Top - BC

Jeffrey Ryan - BC

Jocelyn Morlock - BC

Katerina Gimon - BC

T. Patrick Carrabre – BC WINNER!


Country Artist of the Year                  

D'orjay The Singing Shaman - AB

Gord Bamford - AB

Hunter Brothers - SK

Jess Moskaluke - SK

Nice Horse – AB WINNER!


Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year            

Astrocolor - BC

Mat the Alien - BC


Takis - BC

Talltale - AB


Francophone Artist of the Year (sponsored by APCM (Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique)                      

éemi - SK

Jill Barber - BC

Kelly Bado – MB WINNER!

Ponteix - SK

Sala - MB


Global Artist of the Year 

Casimiro Nhussi - MB

Kelly Bado – MB WINNER!

Notas de 4 - AB

Rubim de Toledo - AB

Vancouver Inter-Cultural Orchestra  - BC


Indigenous Artist of the Year

Don Amero - MB

Mattmac - MB


Sebastian Gaskin - MB

Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC WINNER!


Instrumental Artist of the Year                      

Factor Eight - SK

Mohamed Assani - BC

Quin With One N - BC

Rubim de Toledo  - AB WINNER!

Vancouver Inter-Cultural Orchestra  - BC


Jazz Artist of the Year            

BPM Trio - BC

David Restivo - BC

Jocelyn Gould - MB

Michael Kaeshammer - BC

Will Bonness – MB WINNER!


Metal & Hard Music Artist of the Year                      

Black Thunder - SK

Numenorean - AB

The Basement Paintings - SK

The Moon Runners - SK

Vagina Witchcraft – MB WINNER!


Pop Artist of the Year (Sponsored by CBC Manitoba)            

Begonia – MB WINNER!

Olivia Penalva - BC

Sam the Astronaut - BC

Shawn Hook - BC

Tate McRae - AB


Producer of the Year             

Aidan Knight - BC

Chris Duncombe, Aaron Grain, David Roberts, Gordie Sampson, Thomas Salter, Karen Kosowski - BC

deadmen – MB WINNER!

Spencer Cheyne - AB

Steve Bays - BC


R&B Artist of the Year 


Major Funk - YT

Sebastian Gaskin – MB WINNER!

Slo-Fi - AB

XL The Band - BC


Rap & Hip Hop Artist of the Year                   

Boslen - BC

Junk - BC

Mouraine - AB

Sargeant X Comrade - AB

Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC WINNER!


Recording of the Year (Sponsored by Stingray Rising Stars)

Begonia – MB WINNER!

Kelly Bado - MB

The Bros. Landreth - MB

The Washboard Union - BC

William Prince - MB


Rock Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Torque Brewing)                  

Miesha & The Spanks - AB

Mise en Scene – MB WINNER!

Scenic Route to Alaska - AB

Shred Kelly - BC

The Pack a.d. - BC


Roots Artist of the Year             

Aerialists - BC

Emily Triggs  - AB

Pharis and Jason Romero - BC

Slow Leaves - MB

William Prince – MB WINNER!


Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored By The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada) SOCAN

Aidan Knight - BC

Grant Davidson – MB WINNER!

Michael Bernard Fitzgerald - AB

Stefanie Johnson and Jodi Dunlop - MB

William Prince - MB


Spiritual Artist of the Year                 

Allswell - BC

Caleb Delamont - AB

Jake Fretz - MB

Steve Bell - MB

Yvonne St Germaine – SK WINNER!


Video Director of the Year (Sponsored by Manitoba Film & Music) 

Alfonso Chin - Snotty Nose Rez Kids "Screaming Indian" – BC WINNER!

Dylan Hryciuk - PONTEIX "Petite Fleur" - SK

Kyriel Roberts - Pimpton "Exit The Vessel" - SK

Martin LaFrenière & Philippe Bellefeuille - William Prince "Gospel First Nation" - MB

Stephano Barberis - The Washboard Union "Country Thunder" - BC


Visual Media Composer of the Year              

Chroma Mixed Media – Naona - BC

Deanna Peters/Mutable Subject - Sound Migrations - BC

Factor Eight - Life Is But A Dream – SK WINNER!

Jeffery Straker – Gravity - SK

Kevon Cronin - Hunter Hunter (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) - MB



Audio Engineering Award                  

Ian Dillon - AB

Josh Gwilliam - AB

Nygel Asselin - BC

Ryan Worsley - BC

Sheldon Zaharko – BC WINNER!


Community Excellence Award                       

Curbside Concerts - AB

National Music Centre – AB WINNER!

Nunavut Black History Society - NV

Sakamoto Agency - BC

The Exchange - SK


Excellence in Visual Design                

Alan Ngo - AB

Ashlin Kellough - AB

Bronwin Parks - BC

Christina Cooper - AB

Roberta Landreth – MB WINNER!


Impact in Artist Development           

Birthday Cake       MB WINNER!

Curbside Concerts           AB

National Music Centre    AB

Sakamoto Agency           BC

The Starlite Sessions        AB


Impact in Live Music (Sponsored by Canadian Live Music Association)

Curbside Concerts - AB

National Music Centre - AB

The Starlite Room (Starlite Sessions) #SupportCanadianVenues – AB WINNER!

Times Change(d) High & Lonesome Club - MB

West End Cultural Centre - MB


Impact in Music Marketing                

Birthday Cake – MB WINNER!

Curbside Concerts - AB

The Starlite Sessions - AB

The Village Idiots - MB

West End Cultural Centre - MB


Heritage Award   

Ray St. Germain – MB


Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award

Carole Vivier – MB


Hall Of Fame – Sponsored by FACTOR       

The Watchmen - MB