Posted On: Oct. 2, 2019







Toronto, ON – Thursday, October 3, 2019 – The winners of the 2019 Western Canadian Music Artistic Awards have been revealed! Announced today at the WCMAwards Reception held at the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre in Whitehorse, YT, during BreakOut West, the awards celebrate the best artistic talent in western Canada. See below for the full list of Artistic Award winners.

Acclaimed singer-songwriter, Susan Aglukark, was on hand at the Awards ceremony, as she was inducted into the Western Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Aglukark’s decorated career has seen her recognized as the first Inuk artist to win a JUNO Award (3), earned her a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for lifetime artistic achievement, and named her an officer of the Order of Canada.

The Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre will again play host on Saturday, October 5th where the Industry Awards will be announced at the Industry Awards Brunch. Honourees include Heritage Award winner, Hank Karr, and the Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award recipient, Duncan Sinclair.  

BreakOut West festival showcases get underway tonight, with the Kick-Off Concert taking place at the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre, featuring performances by The Dakhká Khwáan Dancers, Sarah MacDougall, and Del Barber. Over 50 of western Canada’s best emerging and established artists, from all genres, will showcase at multiple venues throughout Whitehorse from October 3–5. A full schedule of festival performances can be found here.  

Festival wristbands are still available and can be purchased here. Festival-goers can redeem their online purchases of wristbands at festival venues, one hour before the first act hits the stage.  

More information about the festival and conference can be found at and on the BreakOut West 2019 mobile event app, powered by CrowdCompass. Available at Apple and Google Play, the app is the place to get the most up-to-date information, and connect with other festival-goers throughout the weekend. Search BreakOut West 2019 to download the free app and get the latest updates and sneak peeks.



Blues Artist of the Year

Ndidi O – BC  

BreakOut Artist of the Year

Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC  

Children’s Artist of the Year

Raffi – BC  

Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored by Canadian Music Centre [CMC])

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra – MB  

Classical Composer of the Year

Carmen Braden – NT  

Country Artist of the Year

Brett Kissel – AB  

Electronic / Dance Artist of the Year

I M U R – BC  

Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique [APCM])

Rayannah – MB  

Indigenous Artist of the Year (Sponsored by APTN)

Northern Haze – NV  

Instrumental Artist of the Year

Five Alarm Funk – BC   

Jazz Artist of the Year

Jodi Proznick – BC  

Metal / Hard Music Artist of the Year

Striker – AB  

Pop Artist of the Year

Begonia – MB  

Rap / Hip Hop Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Northern Touch Music Festival)

Vials – BC  

Rock Artist of the Year

Dan Mangan – BC  

Roots Duo / Group of the Year

Rosie & the Riveters – SK  

Roots Solo Artist of the Year

Mariel Buckley – AB  

Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored by The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada [SOCAN])

Dan Mangan, Cold In The Summer – BC  

Spiritual Artist of the Year

Warren Dean Flandez – BC  

Urban Artist of the Year

LOA – SK  

Visual Media Composer of the Year

Jeffery Straker, The Storm Orchestral – SK  

World Artist of the Year

Buckman Coe – BC  


The Western Canadian Music Alliance is funded in part by the six provincial and territorial governments of western Canada. BreakOut West and the Western Canadian Music Awards are generously funded by FACTOR, Musicaction, the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters, along Whitehorse host partners, and event sponsors and funders, notably the Government of Yukon